For Immediate Release

Toronto – ACTRA Toronto is very proud to announce the nominees for the 16th Annual ACTRA Awards in Toronto, a celebration of the 75th anniversary of ACTRA. The ACTRA Awards in Toronto will take place at The Carlu on Saturday, February 24, 2018.

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Female:

Kristin Booth — Ethel Kennedy in The Kennedys After Camelot, Episode 1 (Muse Entertainment Enterprises)

Sarah Gadon — Grace in Alias Grace, Episode 6 (Halfire Entertainment)

Sheila McCarthy — Valerie Walker in Cardinals (Wilding Pictures)

Tatiana Maslany — Fran in Apart from Everything (Mutual Friends Films)

Tatiana Maslany — Various in Orphan Black, “To Right the Wrongs of Many” (Temple Street Productions)

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Male:

Richard Clarkin — Morgan in The Drawer Boy (Open City Works)

Stuart Hughes — Angus in The Drawer Boy (Open City Works)

Paul Sun-Hyung Lee — Appa in Kim’s Convenience, “Hapkido” (Thunderbird Entertainment)

Tony Nappo — Quinn Diaz in Split Seconds (Toronto 48 Hour Film Project)

Ronnie Rowe Jr. — Black Cop in Black Cop (Blac Op Films)

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Voice:

David Berni — Hector in Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, “Inventor Code” (DHX Media)

Saara Chaudry — Parvana in The Breadwinner (Aircraft Pictures)

Cory Doran — Donny in 3 Amigonauts, “May the 4th Amigonaut be with You” (9 Story Media Group)

Colin Doyle — Bill in Fangbone”, “The Bill of Magic” (Radical Sheep Productions)

Carter Hayden — Klaus in Hotel Transylvania, “Becoming Klaus” (Nelvana Limited)

The nominees for the outstanding performance awards are chosen by a jury of ACTRA Toronto performers.

Nominees for the Members’ Choice Series Ensemble award are:

Baroness Von Sketch Show (Frantic Films)

Kim’s Convenience (Thunderbird Entertainment)

Murdoch Mysteries (Shaftesbury)

Orphan Black (Temple Street Productions)

Schitt’s Creek (Not a Real Company)

Nominees for the ACTRA Toronto Stunt Award are:

Hubert Boorder & Max White (joint nominees)

Shara Kim

Angelica Lisk-Hann

Chris Mark & James Mark (joint nominees)

John Stead

The winner of the 2018 ACTRA Toronto Stunt Award will be decided by a vote of ACTRA Toronto’s stunt community.

ACTRA Toronto performer Tamara Podemski will present her sister Jennifer Podemski with the Award of Excellence.

The show will be hosted by Colin Mochrie, written by Diana Frances, withlive music by God Made Me Funky. Following the lead of #TIMESUP, the dress code will be black.

“What a challenging and inspiring year in our industry!,” said President Theresa Tova. “As performers, our collective voices help make the world a better place through the stories we tell. I could not be prouder to recognize these talented artists whose performances have raised the bar for all of us.” 

The ACTRA Awards in Toronto are sponsored this year by: Diamond: AFBS. Platinum: ACTRA National & PRS, Bell Media, SAG-AFTRA. Gold: CBC, CMPA, Deluxe, FirstOntario Credit Union, HUB International, IATSE 873, USW. Silver: Cavalluzzo, DGC Ontario, Don Carmody Productions, RBC, Take 5 Productions. Bronze: Addenda Capital, Creative Arts Savings & Credit Union, Entertainment Partners Canada Inc. and Canada Film Capital, Grant Thornton, NABET 700-M UNIFOR, New Real Films, Serendipity Point Films, Thunderbird Films, Universal Promotions, WGC, Whizbang Films. Post-Show Reception: eOne

ACTRA Toronto is the largest organization within ACTRA, representing over 15,000 of Canada’s 23,000 professional performers working in recorded media in Canada. As an advocate for Canadian culture since 1943, ACTRA is a member-driven union that continues to secure rights and respect for the work of professional performers.

– 30 –

For access to photos, please contact: Karen Woolridge, ACTRA Toronto Public Relations Officer, cell: (416) 937-1437, email: