The  Nell Shipman Award honours a female producer, director, writer, showrunner, mentor or program administrator who has advanced gender equity in the Canadian film and television industry through their crew hiring practices and/or on-screen representations of women. Previous recipients include Karen Walton (Orphan Black, Ginger Snaps), Adrienne Mitchell (Bellevue, Bomb Girls), Jennifer Podemski (Empire of Dirt), Laurie Finstad-Knizhnik (Strange Empire) and Sheri Elwood (Call Me Fitz).

(Note: Where the word female or woman is used here includes cisgender women, transgender women, women-identified, gender non-conforming women and others who identify themselves within the spectrum of the gender identity of a woman that may be fixed or fluid.)

#NellShipmanAward2019 #GetWomenWorking

Award Recipient Criteria:

  • Female producer, director, writer, showrunner, mentor or program administrator.
  • Has worked to advance gender equity in the film and television industry. (Think someone who actively hires women actors, writers, directors, and crew or champions their work to those in hiring positions. Bonus if they’ve demonstrated additional consideration to women that have been further marginalized in under-represented groups and diverse communities.)
  • We prioritize women who are from, or work predominantly in the Greater Toronto Area, and the winner must be available to attend the TAWC Nell Shipman Gala held in May.

Nomination Form:

Nominations for 2019 are now closed.

News and Past Recipients

Thursday, May 23, 2019 Nell Shipman, News Release
Thursday, May 23rd, 2019 Toronto – May 22, 2019. On the evening of May 22, 2019, actor-writer-filmmaker and V.P. of ACTRA Newfoundland Ruth Lawrence presented the 6th annual Nell Shipman Award to screenwriter and filmmaker&...
Friday, May 25, 2018 Nell Shipman, News Release
Friday, May 25th, 2018 Toronto, ON – Tonight at 7:30 p.m., Jill Golick, award-winning writer-creator and former president of the Writers Guild of Canada (Central Region), presents the 5th annual Nell Shipman Award to screen and television writ...
Tuesday, May 26, 2015 Nell Shipman, News Release
Tuesday, May 26th, 2015 Toronto – The Toronto ACTRA Women’s Committee (TAWC) is pleased to announce the winner of the 2nd Annual Nell Shipman Award. Laurie Finstad-Knizhnik is best known as the creator, writer and showrunner of Strange Empire;...
Monday, May 26, 2014 Nell Shipman, News Release
May 26, 2014 Toronto, ON – The Toronto ACTRA Women’s Committee (TAWC) tonight awarded its inaugural Nell Shipman Award to Canadian Writer, Director, Producer, Sheri Elwood at a galaat The Spoke Club. Ms. Elwood is the creator and sho...