Online voting closed at midnight on April 12th, 2019.

The sixth annual Nell Shipman Award honours a female producer, director, writer, showrunner, mentor or program administrator who has advanced gender equity in the Canadian film and television industry through their crew hiring practices and/or on-screen representations of women. Previous recipients include Karen Walton (Orphan Black, Ginger Snaps), Adrienne Mitchell (Bellevue, Bomb Girls), Jennifer Podemski (Empire of Dirt), Laurie Finstad-Knizhnik (Strange Empire) and Sheri Elwood (Call Me Fitz).

(Note: Where the word female or woman is used throughout this form, this includes cisgender women, transgender women, women-identified, gender non-conforming women and others who identify themselves within the spectrum of the gender identity of a woman that may be fixed or fluid.)

#NellShipmanAward2019 #GetWomenWorking

Award Recipient Criteria:

  • Female producer, director, writer, showrunner, mentor or program administrator.
  • Has worked to advance gender equity in the film and television industry. (Think someone who actively hires women actors, writers, directors, and crew or champions their work to those in hiring positions. Bonus if they’ve demonstrated additional consideration to women that have been further marginalized in under-represented groups and diverse communities.)
  • We prioritize women who are from, or work predominantly in the Greater Toronto Area, and the winner must be available to attend the TAWC Nell Shipman Gala in May (date TBC).

The Nominees for the 2019 Nell Shipman Award

Online voting closed April 12, 2019.

Please consider each nominee carefully, taking into account the reason for nomination, biography and statistics in the document presented here. Online ballot follows.

Susan Alexander
Production Executive, Writer, Producer

Annie Bradley

Amy & Tassie Cameron
Executives in charge of Production, Executive Producers, Writers, Showrunners

Jill Golick
Creator, Showrunner, Writer, Producer, Teacher, Activist

Lauren Grant

Marsha Greene
Writer, Showrunner

Sheila Hockin
Executive Producer, Producer

Winnifred Jong

Sally Karam

Gloria Kim
Director, Writer, Producer

Tricia Lee
Writer, Director

Michelle Melanson
Executive Producer

Sherry White
Writer, Showrunner

Your Ballot

Online voting is now closed.

Thank you for your participation!

If you have any further questions before making your selection, please email