For Immediate Release:

Toronto, January 9, 2014 ACTRA Toronto is proud to announce the nominees for the 12th Annual ACTRA Awards in Toronto. The ACTRA Awards in Toronto will take place at the Carlu on Saturday, February 22, 2014.

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Voice:

David Berni – Duck in Almost Naked Animals, “It’s a Duck’s Party”

Carlos Diaz – Fernando/King in Justin Time, “Olé Olé”

Dwayne Hill – Colton Steele/Sid Butane/Pete/Royce/Earl in Crash Canyon, “The Curse of the Monkey”

Nissae Isen – Yuri in My Big Big Friend, “Sleepover”

Terry McGurrin – Scaredy Squirrel in Scaredy Squirrel, “The Trophy Catastrophe”

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Female:

Amanda Brugel – Vanessa in Sex After Kids Tatiana Maslany – Sarah/Alison/Coz in Orphan Black, “Natural Selection”

Jennifer Podemski – Minerva in Empire of Dirt Helen Shaver – Pearl in Down River Meg Tilly – Lorna in Bomb Girls, “Party Line”

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Male:

Michael D. Cohen – Abner in It Was You Charlie Maxwell McCabe-Lokos – Henry Andreas in The Husband Rick Roberts – Jack Layton in Jack David Sutcliffe – Aidan Black in Cracked, “How The Light Gets In”

Hugh Thompson – Smith in Forgive Me, “Hallowed Be Thy Name”

“High calibre performances like these are building our Canadian Star System,” said David Sparrow, President of ACTRA Toronto. “We are honoured to call these performers members of ACTRA Toronto.”

R.H. Thomson will be presented with ACTRA Toronto’s 2014 Award of Excellence at the Awards celebration. The Award of Excellence recognizes an exceptional body of work and a commitment to advocacy on behalf of all performers. Marco Bianco will receive the ACTRA Toronto Stunt Award. The show will be hosted by actor and comedian Darrell Dennis with musical entertainment provided by Saidah Baba Talibah.

ACTRA Toronto is the largest organization within ACTRA, representing over 15,000 of Canada’s 22,000 professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada.  As an advocate for Canadian culture since 1943, ACTRA is a member-driven union that continues to secure rights and respect for the work of professional performers.

Awards Sponsors:

Diamond Sponsor: Actra Fraternal Benefit Society. Platinum Sponsors: ACTRA National and ACTRA Performers’ Rights Society, Bell Media. Gold Sponsors: CBC, Canadian Media Production Association (CMPA), City of Toronto Film & Television Office, Deluxe, JWT, Shaftesbury, Tim Hortons, United Steelworkers. Silver Sponsors: Cavalluzzo Hayes Shilton McIntyre & Cornish LLP Barristers & Solicitors, Entertainment One, Royal Bank of Canada. Bronze Sponsors: Creative Arts Savings & Credit Union, Directors Guild of Canada (Ontario), Don Carmody Productions, Grayson Matthews, Grant Thornton LLP, HUB International, New Real Films, Pinewood Toronto, Serendipity Point Films, Take 5 Productions, Writers Guild of Canada.

– 30 –

For photos and more information go to or contact Karen Woolridge, ACTRA Toronto Public Relations Officer, cell: (416)-937-1437, email: