For Immediate Release:

Toronto, January 18, 2017 – ACTRA Toronto presents the nominees for the 15th Annual ACTRA Awards in Toronto. The ACTRA Awards in Toronto will take place at The Carlu on Saturday, February 25, 2017. The nominees for the outstanding performance awards are determined by a jury of ACTRA Toronto performers.

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Voice:

Lilly Bartlam (Dot) Dot., “Bring the Thunder” (Industrial Brothers) Linda Kash (Gina Falcone) Fugget About It, “Vagina’s Got Talent” (9 Story Media Group) Pat Kelly and Peter Oldring (Various) This is That, Episode 406 (CBC) Bryn McAuley (Suzi) Camp Lakebottom, “Ice Queen” (9 Story Media Group) Scott McCord (Rudolph Mintenberg) Atomic Puppet, “AP vs Disastro II” (Mercury Filmworks)

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Female:

Brenda Bazinet (Judge Susan Reeves) Shoot the Messenger, “Careful What You Pray For” (Hungry Eyes Film & Television) Grace Lynn Kung (Pam Naardlinger) The Death (and Life) of Carl Naardlinger (Cinéman Films) Tatiana Maslany (Lucy) Two Lovers and a Bear (Max Films Productions) Kari Matchett (Sandra) Maudie (Small Shack Productions Inc., Painted House Films, Parallel Films) Jean Yoon (Umma) Kim’s Convenience, “Gay Discount” (Thunderbird Films)

Nominees for Outstanding Performance – Male:

Simu Liu (Paul Xie) Blood and Water, Episode 1.8 (Breakthrough Entertainment) Joey Klein (Bobby) We’re Still Together (Achromatic Media) Eric Osborne (Miles Hollingsworth) Degrassi: Next Class, “#YesMeansYes” (DHX Media) Gord Rand (Det. Duko) Orphan Black, “The Redesign of Natural Objects” (Temple Street Productions) Paul Soles (Joe) My 90-Year-Old Roommate (LoCo Motion Pictures)

This year, ACTRA Toronto is excited to announce a new Series Ensemble Award. Nominees for this non-juried, “Members’ Choice” award, are determined by ACTRA Toronto members online votes. The nominated shows are:

Baroness Von Sketch Show

Kim’s Convenience

Murdoch Mysteries

Orphan Black

Schitt’s Creek

Yannick Bisson will pick up the Award of Excellence and the ACTRA Toronto Stunt Award will be awarded posthumously to Joel Harris.

The show will be hosted by Aurora Brown, Carolyn Taylor and Jennifer Whalen of the Baroness Von Sketch troupe.

The event this year is themed to honour Canada’s 150th birthday. Live music will be performed by The Wintergarten Orchestra, an 11-piece ensemble specializing in pre-swing jazz classics, featuring ACTRA Toronto actor and singer Ted Atherton.

ACTRA Toronto is the largest organization within ACTRA, representing over 15,000 of Canada’s 22,000 professional performers working in recorded media in Canada.  As an advocate for Canadian culture since 1943, ACTRA is a member-driven union that continues to secure rights and respect for the work of professional performers.

ACTRA Toronto greatly appreciates the support of our sponsors:

Diamond Sponsor: Actra Fraternal Benefit Society; ACTRA National, PRS & RACS. Platinum Sponsors: Bell Media. Gold Sponsors: CBC, Canadian Media Production Association (CMPA), Deluxe, IATSE 873, Rhombus Media, Shaftesbury, United Steelworkers. Silver Sponsors: Cavalluzzo, Directors Guild of Canada (Ontario), RBC. Post-Show Reception Sponsor: eOne. Bronze Sponsors: Addenda Capital, Creative Arts Savings & Credit Union, Don Carmody Productions, Entertainment Partners Canada Inc. and Canada Film Capital, Frantic Films, Grant Thornton, HUB International, New Real Films, Serendipity Point Films, Take 5 Productions, Universal Promotions, Writers Guild of Canada.

– 30 – Media contact: Karen Woolridge, ACTRA Toronto Public Relations Officer, cell: (416) 937-1437, email: ) For photos and more please visit: